skincare routine

let me first start by explaining my skin type. my skin is very dry & flakey because of it. i don’t usually get breakouts, but i get small blemishes occasionally. my skin is also fairly sensitive. in the morning i like to start with the “philosophy purity made simple one-step facial cleanser” ($24). this cleanser is gentle, but still gets your skin very clean. i know that one is on the pricey side, so i also really like the “burt’s bees soap bark and chamomile deep cleansing cream” ($6.99).

the cream consistency is so nice & it has a slight menthol smell & feel to it, which i love. the next step will sound a tad strange because it’s technically not a face product. i use the “nizoral anti-dandruff shampoo” ($14.69) on just my forehead.

i know what you’re thinking “why in the world would you use shampoo on your forehead??” well, this specific shampoo contains nizoral, which helped get rid of these small, skin-coloured bumps on my forehead. it has something to do with overproduction of yeast, but i don’t claim to be a dermatologist so. next, i use the “sheamoisture virgin coconut oil daily hydration overnight face oil” ($8.99). this facial oil is super moisturizing, but absorbs very well. it says “overnight”, but with how dry my skin is i use it both morning & night. the last step in the morning is facial sunscreen.

this is a must, no matter what you’re doing that day. i’m currently just using a travel size one that my sister lended me, so if you guys have any facial sunscreen recommendations i’d appreciate it. for my night routine most of it is the same, i stick with the same facial cleanser & facial oil. before i cleanse my face though, i’ll take off my makeup if i’m wearing any. i use the “garnier skinactive micellar cleansing water & waterproof makeup remover” ($6.99) just on some generic cotton rounds.

i don’t use the nizoral or the sunscreen at night, but after my cleanser i use the “st. ives nourished and smooth oatmeal scrub and mask” ($3.49).

it’s a gentle exfoliator that i use roughly 3-4 times a week. that’s it! i hope at least one of you gets some help or inspiration from this, but again i’m definitely not a dermatologist. this is just what i found that works for me!

Leave a comment